Uncategorized

A post 2 years in the making…

I have never “blogged” before, even though I have thought about doing it for years. I am starting now because I need to give my infertility a voice. I am tired of worrying that my employer will find out and treat me different. I am tired of worrying that friends and family will read this and judge me. I am tired of suffering in silence.

I often rant to my husband  about how wrong it is that infertility is the disease that dare not be named. I also rant about how even once it is named it is astounding the kinds of reactions you get from people. There is a profound misunderstanding that permeates. It is like once you announce your infertility to the happily fertile masses you can see the invisible chasm grow between you and them. They don’t know how to deal with you. They don’t know what to say. It is something that they have never had to even contemplate so how can they possibly relate?

So, I guess my agenda in starting this blog is really two-fold: a) to give my pain a voice, and b) to attempt to give insight to the fertile masses that might help them connect with the people in their lives that finally gain the courage to say the words “I/we suffer from infertility.”

Standard

2 thoughts on “A post 2 years in the making…

  1. This is exactly why I started mine, too. I got tired of hiding, tired of suffering alone. Reading and writing what I’m going through and how I feel has helped more than I can imagine. I don’t care anymore who finds out. I’ve lost a few ‘friends’along the way, because just like your said, they don’t know how to deal with you. Beautifully written. I look forward to reading more of your posts.

Leave a Reply

